Residential Parking Permits

Please note that residential parking permits will NOT be issued for any vehicle displaying an Out-of-
State license plate, unless you obtain a non-resident permit from the Maryland Motor Vehicle
Administration. Further information can be found below.

If you live in one of the following zones, you will need a parking permit:

Zone 1: 615t & 62nd Avenues, State Street, as well as the 1800 Block of 64w Avenue.
Zone 2:

Zone 3: 2200, 2300, & 2400 Blocks of Cheverly Avenue

Zone 4: Arbor Street, Crestlawn Avenue

Zone 5: 2300 Block of Belleview Avenue

Zone 6: Benton Road, as well as the 2300, 2400, & 2500 Blocks of Lake Avenue
Zone 7: 2400 Block of Valley Way

Zone 8: 3300 Block of Belleview Avenue, as well as 5900 Block of Medical Terrace

SR: The odd side of the 2200 Block of Cheverly Avenue*
*this permit will only be issued to senior citizens 65 years of age or older. This will allow you
to park your car in this area in order to utilize Metro.

Residential Parking Permits cost S5 per vehicle, and should be displayed on the back left bumper area. In
order to obtain a Permit, you must bring your Vehicle Registration to the Photo Enforcement Unit in
order to register your vehicle. One Guest Parking Permit will be allowed per residence at no cost. If you
need an additional guest parking permit, the cost will be $2. The maximum allowed guest passes per
residence is two. The Guest Parking Permit shall be displayed on the Rear

View mirror so that all information is facing outward. Guest Parking Permits are for bon-a-fide
guest/visitors and cannot be used for permanent residents of Cheverly.

If you are a Senior Resident (65 years of age or older) and you live in one of the above-noted zones, you
must obtain a Residential Parking Permit for your zone. If you would like a Permit to park in the 2200
Block of Cheverly Avenue to access Metro, you must also have a “SR” Permit. Both should be displayed
side by side on the back left bumper. Citations may be issued to any resident not in compliance. Town
Code 27-5.1: “Residential Zone Parking” mandates all vehicles in the above-noted zones have a
Residential Parking Permit.



OUT-OF-STATE VEHICLES

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

1. | am from another State and do not claim permanent residency in Maryland. | am living here only
temporarily. Do | need to do anything about my car with out-of-state license plates?

Yes. Maryland State law states that a person taking up residency or otherwise occupying a dwelling anywhere
within Maryland must title and/or register their vehicle(s) in Maryland and obtain Maryland license plates within
60 days of occupancy. A Maryland Non-Resident Permit is issued to persons who are exempt from this
requirement, and it must be obtained in lieu of a Maryland registration and license plates within that same 60-day

timeframe.
2. What is a MARYLAND NON-RESIDENT PERMIT?

A Maryland Non-Resident Permit is a permit issued by the Motor Vehicles Administration (MVA) that allows
persons residing in Maryland, but not claiming permanent residency, to keep their vehicles from their home state
while living here without obtaining a Maryland Registration and license plates. Basically, it is a temporary Maryland
vehicle registration.

3. Who is eligible for a Maryland Non-Resident Permit in lieu of a Maryland registration?

A. Students attending any College or University anywhere in Maryland or any adjoining State (DC,
VA, PA, WV, or DE) are eligible. Please note: If you have a Maryland driver’s license, and the
vehicle is registered in your name in another state, your only option is to register your vehicle in

Maryland and get Maryland license plates.

B. Military/DoD Personnel stationed at any military duty station within Maryland or within the
Military District of Washington, D.C. A DOD sticker should also be displayed on your vehicle.

C. Temporary Employment: persons who have been temporarily relocated to Maryland by their
employers. For example, an employee of Microsoft Corp. in Seattle, WA who has been sent to
work temporarily at a specific location within Maryland for a period of 60 days or more, but not
more than one year, may obtain a Maryland Non-Resident Permit for their vehicle.

D. Medical Reasons: persons temporarily residing in Maryland for medical treatmentata facility
within Maryland or an adjoining State.

4. Is the Maryland Non-Resident Permit a parking permit?

NO. The Maryland Non-Resident Permit is not a parking permit of any kind. However, Residential Parking Permits
in the Town of Cheverly may not be issued for vehicles with out-of-state license plates unless a Maryland Non-
Resident Permit or Maryland registration has been obtained.

5. Where can | apply for a Maryland Non-Resident Permit?

Permits can be obtained at your nearest full-service Maryland MVA station. Locations can be found on the MVA

website.

6. What do | need to obtain a Maryland Non-Resident Permit?



A. Proof of temporary Residency within Maryland, and-

B. Your State issued Driver’s License (may not be a Maryland Driver’s License if the vehicle is titled

and registered in your name), and-

C. Your current and valid state issued vehicle registration certificate, and-
1 Student ID card, or-
2 Military ID or DoD civilian ID card with a copy of your orders assigning you to a duty

station in Maryland or another duty station within MDW, or-

3 A letter from your employer (temporary employees) stating your anticipated length of
stay in Maryland for temporary work-related assignment, or-

4. A letter from your physician stating only your anticipated length of stay in Maryland for
medical treatment. (Pursuant to privacy laws, you are not required to state the nature
of your medical condition or treatment).

D. $31.00 cash, check, or credit/debit card. (If purchased at the MD MVA, the permit is only
$27.00.) (Fees subject to change and are non-refundable.)

7. What can happen if | do not obtain a Maryland Non-Resident Permit or a Maryland Registration and
license plates within 60-days of moving into Maryland?

If you are going to be staying in Maryland for more than 60 calendar days and do not obtain either the Maryland
Non-Resident permit (if eligible) or a Maryland registration within 60 days, you may be fined for violation of the
Maryland Motor Vehicles Registration Laws. The maximum fine is $280.

In the Town of Cheverly, Patrol Officers and the Code Enforcement Officer randomly track out-of-state vehicles for
60 days. After 60 days have passed, if the vehicle is found without a Non-Resident Permit or Maryland license
plates, then a citation may be issued in the amount of $50.00 each day until the vehicle leaves the jurisdiction,
displays a Non-Resident Permit, or has a valid Maryland registration and displays valid Maryland license plates.

8. My vehicle is not registered in my name. May | still obtain a Maryland Non-Resident Permit or a

Maryland Registration and license plates?

If you are obtaining only a Maryland Non-Resident Permit, then yes. You may obtain the permit even if the vehicle
is not registered in your name.

If you intend to obtain a Maryland Registration and license plates for the vehicle, the title and current registration
must be in your name, and the transfer must be done at a full service MVA office.

9. For more information about how to register your vehicle in Maryland:

Visit the MVA website at: http://www.mva.maryland.gov/VehicleServ/REG/NewtoMd.htm or call them at 800-
248-4160, or you can even e-mail them at MVACS@mdot.state.md.us. If you are calling from out of state, the
phone number is 301-729-4550. For complete info about the Non-Resident Permit, visit the MVA webpage

about it at: http://www.mva.maryland.gov/AboutMVA/ INFO/27300/27300-60T.htm.



Residential ZONE Parking Permits “+price Goes 70 $5.00 IN 2014

=  You must have Vehicle Registration (registered to Cheverly address) to register your vehicle
= Parking Permits cost $5 / 1 Guest Parking Permit allowed per residence at no cost.
=  $2 for an additional Guest Parking Permit (maximum of 2 guest permits per residence)

If you live in one of the following zones, you will need a parking permit:

Zone 1: State Street, 61st & 62nd Avenues, as well as the 1800 Block of 64th Avenue.

Zone 2: ELIMINATED (6/13/2013)

Zone 3: 22-2400 blocks of Cheverly Avenue

Zone 4: Arbor, Crestlawn, [22-2300 blks Parkway] (ELIMINATED)

Zone 5: 2300 block of Belleview

Zone 6: Benton Road; 23-2500 Blocks of Lake

Zone 7: 2400 block of Valley Way

Zone 8: 3300 Belleview; Medical Terrace [Lockwood Road, 5600blk Jason, 32-3300blk Tremont] (ELIMINATED)

SR: The odd side of the 2200 Block of Cheverly Avenue
[This permit allows senior citizens 65 years of age or older to park their car in this area in order to utilize Metro].

| M Residential Parking Permits are displayed on the BACK LEFT bumper area.

If you have a regular zone permit and a SR permit display them next to each other on the back left bumper.

[ M Guest Parking Permits shall be hung on Rear View mirror with information facing outward.

Citations may be issued to any vehicle not in compliance with Town Code 27-5.1: "Residential Zone Parking"
If you should have any questions, please contact the Photo Enforcement Unit at 240-770-7641.

To apply for a Residential Zone Parking Permit by mail, please provide the following
information AND a copy of your vehicle’s registration* and return this form with payment.
* If you have obtained a Non-Resident Permit from MVA, you MUST send a copy of that permit along with your request.

Number of Permits: (x $5.00) S
(attach copy(s) of registration(s)

Guest Pass (one free per residence) D (free) S free

One additional guest pass: D ($2.00) S

(maximum of 2 passes per residence)

TOTALDUE: $

Make checks or money orders payable to:
Town of Cheverly
(Please do NOT send cash in the mail)

Mail to: Cheverly Police Zone Parking, 6401 Forest Road, Cheverly, MD 20785




